Do target restrictions apply when repeating a power on an adjacent land?

Yeah, Tsunami (and most other threshold effects) just add additional stuff to what that (single) use of the Power Card does. Perhaps in the target land, perhaps in other lands - there are a number which can have effects outside of the target land, like Vengeance of the Dead or The Trees and Stones Speak of War. No ambiguity there.

And that's how I'd originally also been thinking of the Repeat instructions... but after more careful consideration I think Repeats need to be considered a separate effect.

We've got a power that came up on Thursday night's game - and I can't think of what it was right now - that added blight, then possibly dealt damage based on blight present if the elemental kickers were met. Is this something that would count the blight added by the power in calculating the damage?

Yes.  Everything on a power happens sequentially, so you add the blight, and then when you check for blight the blight is there.

 

Was this Poisoned Land? 

@jffdougan: Yes. You follow the instructions in order, and "Add a Blight" happens before "Per Blight, [damage and fear bonus]".

EDIT: Ninja'd. And FAQ Entry added.

It might have been Poisoned Land. It wasn't my power, but the two answers here mean that we did play it properly.

Ah, why not turn this into a question section for good old Bringer of Dreams and Nightmares.

 

Instruments of their own Destruction came up.

 

Bringer cannot deal damage, and it spells out that if they would cause Dahan to deal damage that damage is also not real. However, Instruments causes the Invaders to deal damage to themselves. This edge case isn't covered. Is this damage false damage as well, or since it is the invaders dealing the damage is it allowed by Dreaming of a thousand deaths?

It is false damage as well, just like the case of Dahan dealing damage. (Space was limited, we couldn't cover all the edge cases explicitly.)

This thread dealing with weird edge cases is awesome. This is one of my favorite things about games like Spirit Island and SotM :D

I was starting to write this up as a FAQ entry, and realised I wasn't 100% sure of the full answer: suppose Bringer of Dreams and Nightmares somehow reaches that threshold effect on Instruments of their Own Ruin (Instead, if Invaders Ravage in target land, they damage Invaders in adjacent lands…) That's still phantom damage, right? Even though it's being caused by the Invaders ravaging?

If it is, then does that mean that the ravage caused by Manifest Incarnation is also false damage?

“suppose Bringer of Dreams and Nightmares somehow reaches that threshold effect on Instruments of their Own Ruin (Instead, if Invaders Ravage in target land, they damage Invaders in adjacent lands…) That’s still phantom damage, right? Even though it’s being caused by the Invaders ravaging?”

Sorry, missed this earlier. No - it’s changing what the effects of an Invader action are, and that happens normally.

Similarly, if Bringer somehow ended up with Wildfire’s damage boost Power Card, that’d work normally too - it’s modifying other Spirits’ damage, not doing any itself.

OK! Added a FAQ. (But I didn't include that corner case with Flame's Fury…)

 

So, for absolute clarity

 

The first section of Instruments where the invaders deal damage based on strife is phantom damage

 

The second section where their ravage is modified acts normally

Yes.

And the extra ravage caused by Manifest Incarnation works as normal.

I believe that's correct. It's an extra Invader Action, as per the rules in the Branch & Claw rulebook, and can be prevented by A Year of Perfect Stillness, for instance.