Episode 9: Plague Rat

Yup, you got it!

If you haven't already, you can read a version of the text on Plague Rat's character card on (eg) Spiff's oversized villain cards: http://www.spiffworld.com/sotm/files/sotm_oversized_villain_cards.zip .  He puts the advanced rules seperately.

I've done that.  But mostly when I get impatient I look through the deck for the villain and environment and see what could be coming, and look for combos with team mates.  It pains me not to look at my deck, the only time I let myself do that is if I shuffled but didn't draw, then it is fair game because I can shuffle again without breaking deck integrity.

Oh, and the infection is OK, the first three turns PRat does nothing but put an infection on me, pretty good deal, and hopefully I get some cards to help with throwing down Divine Focus these next two turns.

You can always shuffle again without breaking integrity unless you've been doing deck stacking (eg, Visionary, Argent Adept).

Personally, I've taken to keeping my deck in a computer file and drawing from it programmatically.  More portable, less wear on the cards, and more reliable shuffling.

Gah, I left my decks at home so I wont get to them until after I get home from work, but I know the top card on Ruins of Atlantis is the Atlantean Font of Power and since Plague Rat can't play cards, all of the heroes can resolve the top cards fo their deck

 

What’s the wording on the font of power? If it reveals a card then puts it in play, it would put into play the Infection on top of Plague Rat’s deck.

"Play the top card of the villain deck." We're fine.

Let's do it, Mine is Brutal Censure which deals 2 radiant to Plague rat and draws final dive.

(this resolves last though)

Also being able to look ahead in the villain and environment deck would be fun, but I would be too tempted to cheat, which is why I don't look at my hero deck, once I do it gets ugly.

I Jab Plague Rat in the Throat, hitting him for 2 and stopping him from dealing damage :D

A Flash Flood flows in and right on out, miraculously leaving everyone dry (i.e., not destroying anything).

I show off my Superhuman Durability by flexing, following the Take Down...

[And I go back and edit my turn to correct the damage I took...]

OK, can Flash flood choose to destroy 0 Environment cards?  Otherwise Tempest destroys the card and we all don't do anything.  It says destroy up to 2, so I guess zero would be an option.

 

That was my interpretation, but of course I defer to our moderator.

I read "up to" as including 0, so I would say it's allowable to have it not destroy anything

Makes sense to me, I've honestly never ran into that before.  Glad I get to do my cards.

I'm a little confused? We're just drawing our cards until Plague Rat takes his turn? Why not wait and do our full turn properly?

The environment played Atlantean Font of Power; have you read the card?

No, sorry, I thought someone said it was only the villians deck.
In that case, I've drawn the Staff of Ra. :)
 

Your Staff of Ra goes into play, not into your hand.  Don't forget your 3 hp!

Thanks for pointing that out. I'll be getting the Atlantean deck out now, so I don't get confused again or miss anything else.

So the Font plays:

Villain:  nothing

Tempest:  Flash Flood destroys 0 cards

Wraith:  Throat Jab does 2 melee to Plague Rat(67), Plague Rat cannot deal damage till the start of Wraith's turn.

Legacy:  Superhuman Durabilty

Ra:  Staff of Ra enters play, Ra regains 3hp(29)

Fanatic:  Brutal Censure does 2 radiant damage to Plague Rat(65) I draw Final Dive.

Awesome first round, Plague Rat is neutered for now and is down 20HP already.

With the card from Font lost he's set back 3 cards.

 

Can we leave Plague Locust out until I get to use Divine Focus infected?  I'll drop my hand at 4 damage a card.