Completionist Guise question.

I apologize in advance if this has been asked/answered before, but I can't find it if it has.

For Completionist Guise, is there anything stopping him from swapping heroes back to variants he's already added to his collection?

There's nothing I can find saying whether his collection is considered in-play, out-of-play, 'in the box' or anything else.

You can freely swap back and forth on a variant.  Only item to keep in mind is switching from one version of Sky-Scraped switches all size cards not just the individual one.  

What happens if Completionist Guise chooses his own character card to replace?  I'm guessing it gets replaced and everything after the first sentence of Impressive Collection just doesn't happen because the Completionist Guise card is no longer in play, with Completionist Guise and his collection going back in the box because there's nothing better to do with them?

In OblivAeon mode, can Guise replace an active hero character card with a variant card that is in play as an incapacitated hero?  If so, a player could theoretically stick with the same hero deck regardless of how many times they were incapacitated.

In OblivAeon mode, can players choose from the variant cards under Completionist Guise when replacing their hero?  I haven't done the math, but I figure the players would lose before Guise could hoard all the variant cards and deny other players the chance to select a hero at all... probably.

You are correct    You would replace him and then the power would end   

In OblivAeon mode, can Guise replace an active hero character card with a variant card that is in play as an incapacitated hero?  If so, a player could theoretically stick with the same hero deck regardless of how many times they were incapacitated.

I would say no.  Both character cards are already in play. 

In OblivAeon mode, can players choose from the variant cards under Completionist Guise when replacing their hero?  I haven’t done the math, but I figure the players would lose before Guise could hoard all the variant cards and deny other players the chance to select a hero at all… probably.

The OblivAeon Rules say to pick a character from the box and thus ones under Guise wouldn’t be an option. 

I’m not sure about this one.  He can replace a card with a card he’s already added to his collection, can’t he?  It just says “Replace a Hero Character Card in play with a variant of that Hero.”  Unlike the OblivAeon replacement rules, it doesn’t specify where the new card has to come from.

Although it occurs to me that incapacitated hero cards are technically “hero character cards in play.”  That’ll have to either be a fireside clarification or one heck of an abuseable interaction.

[quote="Powerhound_2000"]

The OblivAeon Rules say to pick a character from the box and thus ones under Guise wouldn’t be an option. 

[/quote]
However, once Completionist Guise is incapacitated, he can remove character cards under him from the game.  IIRC they get returned to the box in this event, and would be eligible for re-selection.

Per previous rulings, cards under him aren’t considered in play. But yeah, the ruling is going to have to clarify how incapped heroes are handled…

Wait, really?  Because just last week, MigrantP was schooling me on how cards under Guise were considered to have “powers in [Guise’s] play area” and thus could be modified by Uh Yeah I’m That Guy on Applied Numerology.  And he should know.  Unless they’re considered to be in his play area but not in play?  Which would be one of the weirdest technicalities I’ve run into in the game (which is saying a lot).

It's been a while, but wasn't there some ruling that cards underneath other cards are still in play?  Like, the face down cards under Savage Mana still count as Villain Cards and Environment Cards and so do trigger Ammo Drop and Dominion when destroyed by Savage Mana's power, but are not considered targets and have no game text because they're face down?  By that logic, if the hero cards go under Completionist Guise face-up, then they are in play and have game text, which would explain why they're modifiable by Impressive Collection and Applied Numerology.  I guess they are not considered targets, though, because even though they have a max HP printed on the card, they do not have any current HP value...?  At least, that's the most consistent explanation I can think of offhand.

Yeah, that's in the fireside chat errata somewhere. Unless a card says otherwise, cards underneath it have no game text but are considered in play. This is why, for instance, End of Days can destroy Projections underneath the Dreamer if you're not careful about when you play it.

I would think Applied Numerology is applicable because Guise is using the power, and the power comes a from that's now in his play area, which is the criterion for the numerical adjustment to go off. Despite the fact that the character card itself has no game text once it's under him, you still have to know what the text was to be able to use the power... or something. c.c God, why is Guise such a headache?

Because he's sponsored by Big Asprin, and they're trying to drive sales.

When you need to get rid of a heroic headache pull out Sentinel Comics branded Big Schspirin.    Just look for the bottle with the giant G on it :smiley:

 

Disclaimer: Sentinel Comics does not actually produce Big Schspirin nor is it affiliated with it.  All proceeds go to Toupees for Bald Eagles

"It's aspirin, with the 'a' and the 's' scraped off."