So this got opened in a thread on BGG and I figured I'd see how others view this. So we have these incap rules for Requital Captain Cosmic:
>
Before removing your cards from the game, shuffle all constructs into a deck and put it under your character card. Whenever a construct is destroyed, Remove it from the game.
Then these are incap powers for him
>
- Move 1 construct or the top card under this card to a new play area.
- A construct deals 1 target 1 energy damage.
- Each construct regains 1 HP.
So the question posed over there was whether you could interact with this deck with things like Timeshift of Omnitron-X, Experiment from SST, or Turmoil of Dark Visonary.
Based on how the incap setup and the first incap power is worded it seems like only Captain Cosmic is the only one capable of interacting with the cards underneath him. Reason being that his first incap power specifies moving the top card under this card and not referencing playing a card from the deck and that also when these Contructs are destroyed they get removed from play instead of going back to the deck under his character card.
The weird thing I see in the wording is, if you put only Constructs into that deck, why does the first power say what it does? Why would you just move the top card, when the wording says you can move any one Construct?
Cards under his card aren't constructs. It lets you reassign a construct in play.
The constructs under CC form a deck, so I would assume that you could treat it like any other deck. But it might not count as a hero deck.
It can't fully be treated like a deck otherwise you would be discarding his character card for affects like Gimmicky Character and Fumbling Fool since his incap card is on top of it.
The character card isn’t part of the deck. Although I admit that I don’t know what you would do with a card you discarded.
The deck you just made goes under the incap Captain Cosmic card so it would be part of it and thus outside of Captain Cosmic I don't think it can be interacted with.
Just like the cards under Savage Mana can’t be interacted with?
I would be curious if End of Days or Apocolypse has an impact on it but beyond that I don't see much that should be able to interact with the cards under his incap side.
Could "No Executions" put a card back under that Construct deck?
I'd say no as there is no deck associated with him at this point as the "deck" is cards under another card and not really a deck.
If it is treated as a deck that would work.
I doubt it will be treated as a deck, because they put it under Cosmic, making Cosmic the top card of the deck, which means he could be put into play or put on the bottom of the deck, both of those run counter to the idea of the card, so I doubt they would rule that way.
The 2 viable options are (and right now either is valid until we get the final ruling with the video game implementation)
1. It is not a deck, no deck related things can affect it.
2. It is a deck, but when you interact with the top card of the deck, you ignore the character card and the card under Cosmic's character card is treated as the top card of the deck.
I expect #1 to be the official ruling, but official rulings on these types of things aren't something Christopher likes to give, he likes to let people play it their way. Unfortunately that doesn't work with the video game, so a lot of things have to be officialized.
By his own incap rules, however it IS referred to as a deck. Timeshift should 100% work.
Then what happens to his character card which is the top card of that deck?
Is his character card the top card of the desk, or is it on top of (i.e. covering, but not a party of) his deck?
As Killswitch pointed out, his incap setup specifically refers to the constructs as forming a deck. That’s fairly unambiguous to me.
It's on top so if it's a treated as a normal deck why wouldn't his character card count as part of it?
If it is a normal deck why does the incap move the top card under him and not state play the top card?
The way I understand it, the character card is on top of a deck, not part of it. As to why it states "top card under this card," my guess is to dissolve confusion, similar to how Rise to Power/Taste of Immortality state to play the top card underneath the Shrine of the Ennead.
You also can't interact with cards under the Shrine of the Ennead without Rise to Power or Taste of Immortality.
That's not what I was trying to point out. My point is that there is card text to instruct the players how to handle card interactions, unlike older cards that didn't have those interactions at the time.