Double Next Evolution?

I have a question, though I'm pretty sure I know the answer.

If Legacy has the Legacy Ring and two Next Evolutions, can he use them to become immune to two different types of damage?

I'm fairly certain this is a no, but a friend of mine wants me to check.

Why not?  If they're not Limited (I don't have the cards in front of me) and he can activate them both, I don't see why he couldn't specify two different kinds of damage to be immune to.

This is definitely doable, not easy to pull off, but awesome when you do pull it off.

Did this once with Visionary shutting down enviro damage, I think the villain was Apostate, so two damage types mainly.  It was game over from there.

If you had Fanatic play embolden on Legacy you could do all three of them.  Would probably be overkill though, and you couldn't choose radiant.

Yes, there's been rulings made that say you cannot activate the power on a card more than once... but if you have two identical, non-limited cards that provide the same power and you have the ability to use two powers in a turn, then you can activate each of the powers individually. 

So you could just choose different types of damage for each (it would be very silly to choose the same one, actually). 

Hmm. Well, can I get word from someone a little higher up, like a mod, or maybe possibly a dev if they have the time? Not that I don't respect your guys opinions, I just want to be totally sure.

This is in my FAQ.  It talks about Tempest's "Cleansing Downpour", but it's essentially the same situation and has been confirmed by the developers:

Duplicate Powers
If a card is not Limited, you can have multiple copies of it in play. However,
each copy of the card is considered its own power. Since you are limited to
activating one power per turn, you may thus only activate one of the two
“instances” of the power during your power phase. For example:
If you have two copies of “Cleansing Downpour” (Tempest card) in play (which
reads “Power: Each Hero regains 2 HP.”), you can use either “instance” of the
power on your power phase, but in either case, the power will simply work as
written (i.e., each hero will regain 2 HP). If for any reason you can use an
additional power on your turn, you may opt to use a second “instance” of the
power on Cleansing Downpour since they come from different distinct cards.

I'm sure one of them will pop along eventually and confirm, but this is pretty much just rules as written.

Believe these folks, Phantom5613 - they know what they're talking about. :wink: (Honestly, they have to correct me half the time… :blush: )

Generally, if the entire collection of responses are one way (as in this case), you can bet it's the right answer. And Spiff's really good about making sure his FAQ has only sanctioned rulings.

Yeah, being a mod doesn't mean we have any more authority on rulings.

I'd say that being a mod means that you often remember the authority's previous ruling.

 

Hey, someone thinks I have a decent memory!

I like to think that the mods wear black hoods and consult large eldritch tomes of rules everytime they visit the forums. Maybe pizza and soda is also involved.

 

No, but sometimes we go to the library and scowl. http://www.spatzel.net/gallery/main.php?g2_itemId=30078

Or pretend to be erudite: http://www.spatzel.net/gallery/main.php?g2_itemId=28019

Another instance of double-Next Evolution that I've definitely seen mentioned on the forum in the past is when fighting the Chairman - combine Melée and Projectile immunity with Lead from the Front and you can just sit back and laugh whilst totally battering the bad guys to death and ignoring their damage :D.

Basically cards with powers that are limited are limited to prevent this, and those that aren't are intended to be able to have multiple ones out for just this reason.

Like Wraith, her Razor Ord. and Throwing Knives are limited to prevent doubling up that particular damage.  Stun Bolts aren't, get the belt and two bolts out and you get to use both for -2 to damage for your enemy (assuming you shoot the same target with both).

Visionary can do it with Mass Levitation, Tachyon with research grant, Bunker's Maintenance unit, etc.

The entire reason those cards are limited or not is specifically for the situations where that hero is able to use multiple powers.