I've been playing around with the preliminary/public-release/playtesting versions some of the preview spirits, and I was waiting to tackle Finder of Paths Unseen last, because it looks the most complicated. Two things immediately came up:
1. Since the Oceans are considered Coastal Westlands when Ocean's Hungry Grasp is playing, can Finder use its special growth option to "add a presence in any land" to add a Presence in the Ocean? If so, and Finder then uses its innate to "moves" a being from one of its lands to the Ocean, does that drown the Invader for Ocean to eat?
2. ...of course, if that is the case, that would likely trigger "Responsibilities to the Dead," which is my bigger question:
RESPONSIBILITIES TO THE DEAD. After one of your Powers destroys 1 or more Dahan/Invaders, or triggers their destruction by moving them, destroy 1 of your Presence.
Under the rules as playtested so far, what does it mean to "trigger their destruction by moving them"? I would assume that teleporting an Invader to the middle of the Ocean where he is then drowned would certainly count. But let's say Finder moves an Invader in Fast Phase -- does that "trigger" the Invader's destruction...
- ...if another Spirit destroys that Invader with a Power later in Slow Phase?
- ...if an Event or Fear card happens that has (ex:) Beasts destroy the Invader?
- ...if the Invader moves to a land where it Ravages, and is killed by Dahan?
...(although I can't think of any off the top of my head right now), what if some Event card Fear card destroys a certain number/type of Invader regardless of what land they're in (ex: "Each player may destroy 1 Explorer," or "Destroy 1 Town on each Board"? - What if the Invader would have been destroyed anyway? Ex: a Spirit plays a power in Fast that would have done enough damage in the target land to destroy the invader, but instead Finder moves the invader elsewhere...and an Event card or a Slow power then destroys the Invader anyway?
Essentially, does it mean that once Finder moves something, and it gets destroyed, that makes it Finder's "fault," and it has to pay the price, unless you can somehow that the thing in question would have been destroyed even if it hadn't been moved? If so, then it would seem like Finder might play really well with BODAN -- Finder could "move" beings to where BODAN could dream-destroy them, causing lots of fear without destroying Finder's presence.