Guise card borrowing Questions.

I thought it did say replace? I know it didnt on the most current version of proofs, but I thought I saw it on the real printed thing. I think either way, it still changes the actual text on the equipment card from any use of the original hero and "you" to the word Guise, with or without the word replace, which is effectivly the same thing.

Full Card Text:

Play this card by an equipment card.

That card affects Guise as if the hero name on that card were Guise and "you" on that card means Guise's player.

At the start of your turn play air guitar and destroy this card.

It Affects Guise as if the text were changed.  It doesn't change the text.  Replace would have been a much better choice of wording, or placing the equipment in Guise's area.

Switch to Ronway's side more often then.

You ain't kiddin

Sure, it would have been a little bit more concise if it said "this card now belongs to Guise, as if..." but I think you are about the only one having trouble with it. It seems pretty obvious what it means.

I think the intent is clear, but It's not at all obvious and I totally see Skippy's argument. Its 100% valid.

I'm cool with the ruling and the way the card will play, just annoyed by the wording, which happens to me frequently.  It isn't a big deal.

Become a playtester so you can see that cards before they get printed and give suggestions on how to… Oh wait, nevermind.

So I decided to play my first game with WCOS stuff mixed in with everything else later tonight.  I'll be playing Guise, Visionary, and Prime Warden Captain Cosmic vs Skinwalker Gloomweaver in the Omnitron IV environment.  I was looking at the heroes and realized something really intriguing about comboing Guise with Prime Warden Captain Cosmic.

If I play Guise's card "I can do that, too!" to copy PW Capt. Cosmic's "Absorption" power, wouldn't that mean  Guise could steal some of Cap's constructs and shuffle them into his(Guise's) deck?

I can do that, too! :

"Oneshot

Guise uses a power printed on an active hero character card in play.  If that power has the name of a hero in it, treat that name as if it were Guise instead."

 

Absorption :

"Power

Until the start of your next turn, whenever a construct card is destroyed, you may shuffle it into your deck instead and either draw a card or play a card."

 

 

No, it would mean that any construct that is destroyed before Guise's next turn he could draw or play a card.   The character card for PW Captain Cosmic doesn't allow you to shuffle the destroyed construct into his deck

And the frustrating thing is that there were suggestions made that work better for the intent of the card.

The final text was changed to Cosmic shuffling the Construct into his deck rather than them being destroyed.  It prevents him stacking the effect through multiple power uses since he can only shuffle the card into his deck once to "pay" for the effect.

That being said…I'm unsure about whether that means that Guise will get Cosmic's cards in his deck.  Seems somewhat strange.

Normally I'd throw the idea out the window, but considering Guise's "unusual" powers.  Even if you can't do it I may just have to house-rule it in since it actually kinda fits with his theme.  

The timing for the two powers would be simultaneous, so it would be players choice.  The way Guise scales with out of turn card play would work quite well with the power.

You would have to shuffle the construct into Guise's deck, which while wierd isn't any wierder than the other stuff he or other mini expansions can pull off.

We Played Guise-Naturalist yesterday, and even without getting Bestial Shift out it was ridiculou, esp. in croc form with Guise activating the croc text on one shots to make Naturalist do even more damage.

It also let's Cosmic use Cataclysm or Conservation while his base power is active, albeit on a different hero.

So if I play Guise's "Lemme See That" on The Wraith's "Razor Ordnance", the text becomes "Power: Guise deals 1 target 3 projectile damage", correct?  Does that mean the card is in Guise's play area or is it still in The Wraiths?  If the former, Guise activates the power and Wraith doesn't have access until the start of Guise's next turn (and air guitar is played).  If it's the latter, does The Wraith have to activate the power, cause Guise to do damage?

In regards to the Air Guitar, is it a full song or just a "Bill and Ted" type of chord?

Ben

Up to you, I do Wyld Stallions, and depending on the game flow of the moment determines whether it is a garage throw down or a futuristic moment of zen.

My one friend really got into it and we ended up going for snacks.

It remains in The Wraith's play area. Guise is the one who would activate the power.

This is a rare case where I'm going to strongly disagree with the game's creator.  The card says:

"Play this card by an equipment card. That card affects Guise as if the hero name on that card were Guise and "You" on that card means Guise's player.
At the start of your turn, play air guitar and destroy this card."

The plain english meaning of this seems to me to say that, while from Guise's PoV, the card text has changed, the actual text has NOT changed.  "affects … as if … were" are all cues that these changes to the card are conditional/situational, not absolute.  If you had intended Guise to steal the card, then you should have written something else for the second sentence, such as for example: "Replace any instances of the hero name or "you" on that card with "Guise" for as long as this card is in play."

A weaker, but perhaps-still-relevant argument is that neither I Can Do That, Too! or Uh, Yeah, I'm That Guy! remove any functionality from the targeted player.

If you want to issue an official erratum to the card text, I'd accept that, but until such time, I'm going to abide by what the card says, not by your ruling.

The other question I see is Lemme see that does not specify to change the nature of "You."

Um, Yeah. . . deals with that by having the text on Guise's card, so no issue, and I can do that too specifically mentions it.

I assume that the player using the power counts as "You," not the owner of the card.

 

While I don't like the wording of the card vs. the intent, the intent of the rule makes sense, as I can do that too, and Uh, yeah, I'm that guy. . . both deal with Guise acting like another hero, while Lemme see that is Guise taking the equipment in question and using it himself.

It makes sense that if Guise takes Expatriette's Shotgun, she doesn't still have it.

I also like the idea (and yes this happened in a game when our Guise took my Shotgun right after I drew Unload) of Expatriette asking for her Shotgun back via Rocket Launcher.

Given Guise's other abilities and origins, it seems perfectly reasonable to me that he is actually copying the equipment with some sort of ectoplasm, or summoning a copy of it from Hammerspace.