Okay so my players got me turned around fairly bad on a topic that I need to ask around on, this also came from the !reaction command on the Omni-bot. When using “Inherent” or “Reaction” actions typically is suggests an power to use. An example from Absolute Zero’s sheet...
”Whenever your personal zone changes, you may Boost using Cold.”
The question is this: Would you only role the die assigned to the power “cold” (d12) or would you roll three die as you would in an overcome.
I thought it it was three up until I saw the command only asked for one die to be input on Discord.
Huh. I always assumed it was a normal roll, just instead of choosing a power you must use the one specified, e.g. Cold.
I can see how it could be interpreted differently however...
I only used the Cold die when I played the Starter Kit at GenCon last year.
As a side note first this thread got created twice.
Thank you Powerhound. Wasn’t sure how to fix that on my end...
I went combing through Daybreak’s hero sheets and their Reactions have language that answers my question. An example from Rockstar’s abilities:
“When you change personal zones you may boost by rolling your SINGLE transmutation die.”
Given that all of Daybreak’s inherent and reaction abilities read as such, notating a single die, I’m going to assume in the Kickstarter heroes it is a single die as well. Most likely the awesome folks here and at GTG have caught that and are making the adjustment.
Yeah, that's a rules clarification that made it into the later stuff. The general rule is that Actions you take on your turn use 3 dice, and everything else (inherent abilities, reactions, and Out abilities) use only one die.