Rules Answers from Christopher At PAX

1. The order for how Micro-targetting Computer and Imbued Flame does not effect the end result. The conditional damage bonuses (like +1 to projectile or fire) cease once the damage type has changed.

 

2. You can redirect infinitely if you want, but it doesn't do anything. Once it is redirected, the target is taking the original amount of damage again. So Smoke Bombs can tag it once (since it has redirected the damage) and say, stealth bot can redirect it to himself and net a total of 2 damage reduction, but looping it doesn't get you anywhere. Having Legacy bring it back to himself only benefits from the smoke bombs, not Stealth Bots reduction. He says you're welcome to if you want to, though.

 

3. Tempest: Sacrifice can eat his cards that Capitain has taken under herself. It still sees them as Tempest Cards in play. 

 

If you have any new ones you want me to throw at him, I'll try to check back in and remember them for tomorrow or Monday.

I know this has been answered, but a clarification would be nice. If a card has an effect when it is destroyed (e.g. Sonic Mine), what is the proper order:

1) Card is destoryed.

2) On destruction effects on cards in play before the card.

3) Destruction effect on the card.

4) Card finally leaves play.

5) On destruction effects on cards in play after the card.

Or do you read it as "when this card would be destroyed do X, then destroy this card. So it would always be:

1) Destroy effect on the card.

2) Card is destroyed and leaves play.

3) On destruction effects in card played order.

 

On a related note, when Explosive Wagon is destroyed, does it get its bonus?

Not a rules question, but can you ask Christopher why Team Leader Tachy has shorter hair then regular Tachy?

I talked to Adam this morning. She cut it because, uh, she cut it. She changed her hair styles preferences (like many of us do :wink: ). Nothing exciting. :slightly_smiling_face:

Are you kidding me?!  Tell those writers that Tachyon needs a "coming into her own, hair-cutting episode"  in which the cutting of her hair is symbolic of her  banishing her personal demons and assuming a leadership role of the new Freedom 6.    

 

Sheesh,  nobody changes their appearance for no reason =p.

Just want to be sure I'm reading this right:

Smoke Bombs (like Legs and SBot) can redirect the same damage multiple times, but it only reduces the damage the first time, but the damage reduction sticks once the damage has been redirected?

So you can have stealth bot take 5 damge for someone, triggering Smoke Bombs and redirecting to Tachyon who redirects to IL, who has redirection out, but now it is four damage and he can't redirect it because Smoke Bombs reduced it by one.

Because if that is the case you can give Christopher a hug for me and tell him he rocks, cause that's a great way to deal with it.

It also means that when Smoke Bombs is out the lowest HP hero target cannot take damage.

Unless al heroes are on the same HP/Wraith is the only hero left, in which case it creates a non-optiona infinite cycle of redirection...

Sure they can, one of the other heroes could hit them for being smug, or more likely the environment could.

Unless al heroes are on the same HP/Wraith is the only hero left, in which case it creates a non-optiona infinite cycle of redirection...

Only if you chose to do so, if they are tied you choose the order, so only one hero at a time is the lowest health.

Sure they can, one of the other heroes could hit them for being smug, or more likely the environment could.

Good Point.  Don't go bragging about being the lowest health to the Environment Deck or your friends.  Good advice.

So the connection at the con was too crappy for me to pull the full question up, but he did clarify that Explosives Wagon is still out when it's "is destroyed" trigger is going off, so the damage is increased. 

Thank you. I think there was an assumption on here that it doesn't get the bonus, but I didn't quite understand why. This clears things up.

There is a takeaway here as far as definitions go. A card does not have to be in the trash to be considered Destroyed. It is moved to the trash as a result of the Destruction resolving, not because it must be in the trash to be considered destroyed. This is how I always assumed it works. Glad we have confirmation.

Maybe. If this is going back to the other discussion, I don't think it completely clarifies it, which is why I asked the longer version. Now, I do think the ruling might be as you mentioned before, I just don't think it is the best approach based on the issues I brought over there.

EDIT: To clarify, I don;t have any issue with saying it is destroyed and still in play (although it would make more sense to say "if it would be destroyed), the issue is that nothing should interupt a cards leaving play after being destroyed. So, if there is a ruling saying that the cards "is destroyed" abilities always happen first, there would be a lot less problems.

What is still grey for you Pydro? I'm not sure how this does not clear up the issue

The simple solution is to not view it as an interrupted action. Don't assume that the card needs to be in the trash to be considered destroyed. Moving to the trash is the end result of a card being tagged for destruction. 

We can go back and reference the rule for resolving triggers, that with consecutive triggers, the newest one is always resolved first. Being tagged for destruction is the first effect, which then triggers the destruction effect (so now resolve that first), then carry out the rest of destruction (move to trash). 

Everythibg here is very consistent with all current ruling on triggered effects. Sounds resolved to me.

Edit: I guess it is kinda interrupted, but that doesn't change how you resolve interrupted actions. Also Pydro, I agree that the wording of "when this card would be destroyed" could make it clearer, but it wouldn't trigger simultaneously with other "when a card is destroyed" triggers. Whether or not that is important is questionable, but relevant. 

If I understand correctly cards with "when this card is destroyed" text delay their destruction to activate those effects, remaining on the field to do so.  Cards that are triggered on another cards destruction trigger when a card is destroyed and leaves play.

So Bunker wouldn't draw a card until Sonic Mine had completed its damage and left play.

An interesting question reappears. . .

Did we ever get an official ruling as to what happens if a card with a destruction effect (aka Wagon) is destroyed, and mid damage is destroyed a second time.

Last I know we had reached a concensus that it couldn't be triggered twice, but that was based on a concensus that redirection could only happen once in the samge damage instance.

Our concensus on redirection is overruled, the question of how destruction effects interact seems to have returned.

If the wagon is destroyed by health, and goes off, hitting Beebot and Unity selects to destroy the wagon, what happens?

I looked, I can't find an official ruling.  It would be wierd seeing a wording like "The first time this card is destroyed each turn."

It seems to me that either destruction effects can only be used once per time the card is played, which would seem to allow Beebot to interrupt Wagon's damage, or like Smokebombs, lead from the front, and Stealth Bot it can trigger multiple times (although only one time would complete the cycle).

 

 

As of right now, I would argue that the Wagons explosion damage can be interrupted by a second destroy effect. There is not anything saying a card can't be tagged as destroyed multiple times I guess. The second destruction effect would actually resolve before the first one if you follow the rules of trigger resulolution. 

 

Actually, I brought up the Bee Bot Thing and he said this:

 

The Wagon is already being destroyed. If for example, you have Fixed Point out and something is at 0, it's going to be destroyed once Point goes away. Destroying it again is like doing 20 more damage to the 0 health character. Yes, you can do it, but it has no effect real effect on the end result. 

At a guess, the ruling is probably that Destroyed cards can't be targetted in general.  So Beebot couldn't select the Wagon.

If it can be double-Destroyed, what happens when Haka destroys the Wagon, he has Savage Mana in play, and the Wagon's death destroys Beebot which selects the Wagon?  Does the Wagon go under Savage Mana (because Haka destroyed it) or into the trash (because Beebot destroyed it)?

Ok. So "on destruction" effects can not be interrupted by a second destroy effect. Good to have that clarified.