Rules question about reactions

I don’t get stumped very often at this point, but this one has me stuck:

Let’s say you have a villain with this ability:

I Know Your Weakness (R) When a nearby hero rolls a one on any of their dice during their turn, you may roll your single status die to Attack them.

and this upgrade:

Group Fighter (I) +20 Health. When you take an action that lets you make an Attack, also make an Attack using your Mid die.

Am I correct in saying that the Attack from the reaction won’t produce another Attack from the upgrade? My reasoning is that A) you’re taking a reaction, not an action and B) with only one die involved, there’d be no Mid die to look for anyway.

If I’m wrong, I assume you’d use the single die for both Attacks, since it would be the Mid die by default (as well as the Max and Min, if that mattered)?

I would agree with this interpretation.

1 Like

As would I. Quoth page 434:

Action . . . A thing a character does on their turn. An ability that takes an action to perform uses all of that turn.

Note “on their turn.” If it’s not your turn, you can’t take an Action.

(Incidentally, I imagine that this is why the Give Time Red ability lets a hero take another turn rather than giving them an extra action.)

Besides, if the designers wanted Group Fighter to trigger whenever the villain Attacked, I think it likely that they’d simply say so, like this:

Group Fighter (I): Whenever you make an Attack, also make another Attack using your Mid die.

1 Like

Sounds reasonable overall.

Hmmm. Not 100% sure about the “on your turn” requirement for some villain abilities. Notably:

On My Mark (A) One ally makes a basic action now using their Max die. They may reroll all ones they roll as part of this action.

Given the phrasing that sure looks like it’s intended to be a proper action taken out of turn, and if the villain chose to basic Attack with it I’d let Group Fighter trigger for a second Mid die Attack. It’s clearly not a reaction, not even a “free” one, and the ability text overrides the definition’s “on your turn” requirement pretty explicitly.

That would set up an infinite series of Attacks, wouldn’t it? As an Inherent it checks to process every time you make an Attack, and the iterative Attack would produce another, etc., etc. :slight_smile:

Oh, and here’s the villain that prompted this:


Hmm, good point. I’m not sure how to square that with the definition.

Yes, it does seem like that would be the intended interaction.

Oh, yes, you’re right. I hadn’t realised that. 8-|

1 Like