Sandbox method

Hi all! As mentioned in a previous post, I’m new to SCRPG and had a question about game play and how it would work.

I know that SCRPG heavily relies on issues and collections, but has anyone tried playing this in a sandbox method? As an example heroes would be given leads to follow, which depending what they decide it would determine which “issue”/adventure they would start.

The truth is I wouldn’t try this until I have more experience with the game flow, but just curious what seasoned players think.

Thanks!

2 Likes

Mechanically, issues are just a colorful word for “game session” and after a number of sessions (usually six) you “level up” by gaining a collection, which gives you a once per session benefit when you choose to use it. Usually your GM will have at least a loosely-planned story in mind for an issue, with most of the planning being a possible sequence of scenes and most of the prep being somewhere from one to three possible action scenes. IME most issues only have time for two action scenes, sometimes only one, but that can vary a lot- especially if your game sessions run to twelve hour marathons or something rather than the more common three or four.

Playing “sandbox” the way you’re describing would really just be a matter of the GM (with some input from the players about what they and their characters are interested in) coming up with starting points for several story ideas rather than one and letting the PCs learn about them diegetically, then decide what one(s) to pursue. Beyond that it’s really going to come down to a developing narrative, so you need to be flexible and think on your feet because your players will surprise you, guaranteed.