What am I doing wrong?

I got the game yesterday and my son and I are enjoying it.  I have played 3 times:

Gray Hammer and the Warbeast vs. the Syndicate.  Took a long time (about 2 hours) - strike force ships never really in danger.

Gray Hammer and Vigilance vs. Technovore.  Easy - won in 30 minutes.

Uxshenti and the Claw vs. Technovore.  One stike force ship badly damaged in a sacrifice play to defeat the flagship.

We won all three times, all by defeating the flagship.

Before I got the game, I watched Tom Vasal's glowing review, including his testimony that this game was *hard* and that he had yet to beat it.

In fairness, I have a lot of SotM experience (which at least makes learning the game a touch easier), I read that forcing the Syndicate's flagship is the easiest way to beat them, and I've also read that the Technovore may be the easiest opposition.

So is that it - and rough times await me ahead? Or are there some common rules that are often missed or played wrong that is allowing all these wins?

Don't get me wrong; I enjoy the game (and my son loves it).  But I get antsy if I can win a co-op three times in a row in my first three plays.

Sometimes the strat is gonna come easy to you. 

Bump up the difficulty a bit by just adding in the elite mode icons. That's my preferred method for most games and it's a great sweet spot. Try that and report back

Some things that are easy to do incorrectly and make the game easier (there should be a list of these kept somewhere):

• Requisitioning cards into your hand, instead of to the bottom of your deck (recycle).
  • Recycling blue boost cards instead of scrapping them.
  • Recycling destroyed techs instead of scrapping them.
  • Missing TRIBA start of phase icons (especially easy on the opposition "impending" card and sectors).
  • Using boosts during events (e.g. install a tech, use a boost, install a tech) instead of only between events.