I don't know… the way I see it, cards that deal damage to "non-hero targets" do not specify "hero target" immunity really. In my interpretation they simply look for cards that contain a non-hero trait (villain or environment being the only two, I think) and deal damage to that… so by being a villain target a card meets that qualification, even if it is also a "hero target"
I think they could be both and as such suffer damage aimed at non-hero targets and non-villain
EDIT: to clarify (maybe) when a card or effect specifies that it applies to "non-hero target", I don't think it is explicitly excluding hero targets… it is simply looking for traits other than hero. So by having two traits, hero and villain, a target would qualify since it would be both a hero and a non-hero target.
well… Technically the rules say that if a card "affects non-hero targets, it can target any targets that are not hero cards or hero character cards" so if we establish that Infinitor remains a villain character card while having his hero target status… he wouldn't really violate the non-hero target rule.
Yeah I think it makes more sense if it hits everything that isn’t explicitly a hero card.
For example, if you had a red ball, a blue ball, and a red-and-blue ball, and I told you to pass me every “non-red ball”, you’d only pass me the blue ball. Right?
Maybe I just use language differently to other people, but that is what makes the most sense to me.
I don't understand how you could think that "non-hero target" doesn't explicitly exclude hero targets. "Non-hero target" can't mean anything but "targets that are not hero targets."
I guess I was just reading it as a target possessing a trait other than hero. So I just imagined that card searching for targets that had any non-hero traits and just ignoring the hero portion of the trait.
I don't think think that I was right in that approach as Peter's example with the red and blue balls illustrated the exclusion pretty well.
However, I still think that the rules as written would still have Infinitor being affected by cards and effects that target non-hero target as he is a target and he is not a hero card or a hero character card.
No way man. Infinitor isn't really a red-and-blue ball, more like a red-or-blue ball. Because being both a villain & hero target simultaneously is contradictory (he is not half-hero and half-villain, but whole-hero and whole-villain).
His state changes based on how we observe him. Like quantum mechanics. He is either red or blue based on context, but not both. But really he is green though.
I think this analogy is the problem right here. You equated red = villain and blue = hero.
I’d say the situation is more like this:
I have a red ball, a red block, and a blue ball. If I ask you to hand me the non-red things, you give me the blue ball. If I ask you to hand me the non-ball things, you hand me the red block.
The objects can totally be both red and a block, or neither blue nor a ball.
Villain = non-hero and hero = non-villain are false equivalencies. “Hero” and “villain” are just keywords a card can acquire, like “limited” or “environment.” “Non-X card” just means a card that does not have the keyword X. It doesn’t say anything about the keyword the card DOES have.
I am really confused about what you think Peter is saying. From your last couple of lines, it reads like you agree that non-hero and non-villain attacks should not hit Infinitor, but you opened by disagreeing with someone arguing the same thing, and your metaphor makes a lot less sense than Peter's balls.
None of the Environment cards have the "environment" keyword.
None of Unity's bots have the "Hero" keyword. In fact, none of the hero character cards have the "Hero" keyword either. By your argument here, cards that specify "hero target" should not be able to affect anything.
Whether something is a hero, villain or environment card has nothing to do with keywords and everything to do with decks – unless a card specifically says otherwise.
Promo Infinitor's card specifically says he is a hero target.
Which means that effects that specify "Non-Hero Target" cannot affect him, because those effects key on the lack of a qualifier that he is specifically stated to have.
The analogy would be a problem if red and blue were mutually exclusive. But the existance of the red and blue ball negates that, and makes this analogy functionally equivalent to your analogy.
Hero Target: Any target that is also a hero card or a hero character card. If a card affects non-hero targets it can affect any targets that are not hero cards or Hero Character cards.
So yes, infinitor being a hero target does not actually prevent cards that affect non-hero targets from affecting him.